Inspirational Teaching Awards – Shortlist Announced

Posted on

New Directions Education is proud to announce the hotly anticipated shortlist of nominees for the annual Inspirational Teaching Awards 2014. After a very difficult afternoon of discussions, the shortlist has now been released in preparation for the awards ceremony to be held on 20th June 2014 at the Mercure Holland House Hotel in Cardiff.

Speaking about the judging process, Gary Williams, Director of Business Development for New Directions Education said ‘what a tough job our judges had on their hands. The standard of entries was quite overwhelming. We were delighted to receive in excess of 100 nominations from across Wales. The tension in the room as the judges discussed the nominees was electric. What was so wonderful to see, was the passion everyone who is involved with the awards has. The education sector in Wales deserves to be celebrated, and more so the individuals who make it a success’.

The Shortlist

Secondary Headteacher / Pennaeth Uwchradd

  • Heather Nicholas, Ferndale Community School
  • Claire Armistead, Rhyl High School
  • Jonathan Wilson, Duffryn High School

Primary Headteacher / Pennaeth Cynradd

  • John Healy, St David’s RC Primary School
  • Pamela Eyles, Heolgerrig Community School
  • Bethan Hocking, Herbert Thompson Primary School

SEN Headteacher / Pennaeth AAA

  • Paul Jenkins, Newbridge Inclusion Centre
  • Carol Edwards, Ysgol Tir Morfa
  • Kevin Tansley, Tŷ Gwyn Special School, Cardiff

Classroom Assistant / Cynorthwyydd Dosbarth

  • Michelle O’Riley, Severn Primary
  • Sarah Jones, Cogan Nursery School
  • Susan Pugh, Abercynon Community Primary School

Ancillary Staff Member / Aelod o Staff Ategol

  • Nigel Williams, St Mary’s Catholic School
  • Mark Thomas, Radyr Primary School
  • Jean Shafto, Cogan Nursery School

Supply Teacher / Athro Cyflenwi

  • Lesley Curtis
  • Angela Sandles
  • Meilir Tecwyn

Supply Classroom Assistant / Cynorthwyydd Dosbarth Cyflenwi

  • Claire Fender
  • Catherine Maddock
  • Bernadette Holtham

Secondary Teacher / Athro Uwchradd

  • Maureen Gwyn, Ferndale Community School
  • Arthur Gwynne, St Joseph’s Catholic School and Sixth Form Centre, Port Talbot
  • Richard Freter, Treorchy Comprehensive School

Primary Teacher / Athro Cynradd

  • Jim Charles, Coed Glas Primary School
  • Gareth Lloyd James, Ysgol Gymraeg Aberystwyth
  • Peter Thomas, Cogan Nursery School

SEN Teacher / Athro AAA

  • Peter Walford, The Court Special School
  • Rob Bleach, Llanishen Fach Primary
  • Dewi Roberts, Newbridge Inclusion Centre