Catholic Schools Achievement Recognised with Awards Ceremony

Posted on

The Archdiocese of Liverpool has had the efforts of schools within their community recognised with an awards ceremony held in Liverpool on Friday March 3rd 2017.

The Awards, brainchild of the Director of Schools and Colleges, Tim Warren, honoured 11 winners in a sparkling celebration held at the prestigious Liver Buildings on Friday afternoon in Liverpool.

The event was organised and sponsored by leading recruitment and training specialists New Directions Education and was attended by over 150 delegates.

The event was opened by The Most Reverend Malcolm McMahon OP, Archbishop of Liverpool, who commented on the ambition attached to Catholic education in his archdiocese. Guests enjoyed a two-course meal and were entertained by ceremony host Liverpool’s Radio City DJ Leanne Campbell.

Speaking about the event Tim Warren said ”This was an event which showcased the hearts and souls of our Catholic schools and those who work and learn in them”.

Guests were also entertained by the musical talents of students from St Edmund Arrowsmith Catholic Centre for Learning, Knowsley as a tribute to their late Headmaster, Mr Martyn Campbell.

Winners of the ‘Sport Achievement’ award St Peter’s Catholic High School, Wigan took to Twitter to share their delight at having being shortlisted saying ‘We’re delighted to be at the Archdiocese Schools Award, having been shortlisted for the Sporting Achievement @ndeducation @Schools_RL’. The PE department who are rated in the top 1% of PE Departments in the country continued their celebrations with many taking to their social media accounts to congratulate them.

Emma Joyce, from event sponsors New Directions Education spoke about the occasion ‘the Archdiocese leadership team and our own organisation have worked tirelessly to bring this celebration to life. I think every delegate who attended would agree what a wonderful afternoon it was to celebrate the very real successes of students, teachers and their surrounding communities. From the students who performed at the occasion to the teams who helped celebrate their achievements, it was an absolutely wonderful day to recognise their contributions to the Archdiocese’.

The Winners:
Spirituality in our School Award – St Michael and All Angels’ Catholic Primary School, Knowsley
Contribution to the Community Award – St Hugh’s Catholic Primary School and Chatham Nursery, Liverpool
Creative Team Project of the Year – Sacred Heart Catholic College, Sefton
Sport Achievement – Year 11 Rugby Team, St Peter’s Catholic High School
Inspirational Young Entrepreneur of the Year – Megan Holmes, All Hallows Catholic High School, Lancashire
Inspirational School Support Staff of the Year – Ann Murphy, St. Michael’s Catholic Primary School Widnes, Halton
Inspirational Teacher of the Year – Jay Stewart, The Academy of St. Francis of Assisi, Liverpool
Governing Body of the Year – St. Mary’s Catholic High School, Leyland, Lancashire
Primary Headteacher of the Year – Rebecca Flynn, St Teresa’s Catholic Primary School, Devon St. St. Helens
Secondary Headteacher of the Year – Patrick Ferguson, Hope Academy, St. Helens
School of the Year – St. Sebastian’s Catholic Primary School, Liverpool